Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Gelatin-Free Skittles

At my school, today one of my vegetarian friends told me Skittles went gelatin and gluten free. I couldn't believe so I told him to buy ones and I read it myself and ate a few [I'm not a candy sucker] They can be safe to eat for vegans. But still one thing: MARS test on animals. If they decided to eliminate the nasty gelatin of the Skittles, we can send letters or emails or even call the company and ask them to stop testing their stuff on animals. We can say that we are happy they eliminated the gelatin of the Skittles, and that's a good thing, but they still test them on inoffensive animals. That we would like them to stop doing that. OK, that would be great, though it's not a healthy food because of the hydrogenated oils and that stuff, but a few pieces in a while wouldn't be that bad. ;)

That would be nice if Starburst go gelatin free too, if they haven't yet :)
Though we have MAMBA Fruit Chews, which are great.

5 comments:

Anonymous said...

i totally agree! so many vegan friends are eating skittle just cuz theyre gelatin free and im so pissed because that doesnt end the disgusting things they do to those poor innocent lives

jd said...

Thanks for the info!

I'm glad to know that Skittles are gelatin-free, but it's important to keep in mind that the company tests on animals, as you mentioned.

Although they've taken a step in the right direction, they still have a long way to go! It's great that you want to encourage them to be a more compassionate company. I'm with you all the way :)

Anonymous said...

I cant wait to eat all the bags that I steal. Fuck mars. might as well.

Anonymous said...

um, stealing affects the vendor who carries them, not mars - they already got their paycheck. moron.

Rheulet said...

Does or did Mamba test on animals?